The lodge was built at the same time as the Victorian House. The lodge keeper monitored the comings and goings of Mr. Best’s visitors. Later, in the days of the public park, one of the park keepers resided here. The first one in 1922 was Mr. Stokes; his annual wage was £130 with the perk of free lodging. As a result of the ‘right to buy’ Act of 1980 the lodge was purchased on 18 May 1987 and so passed into private ownership.
In 1923 twenty litter bins were purchased at a cost of 10 shillings (50p) each and twenty-five “keep off the grass” cast iron plates at a cost of 7 shillings and three pence (36p) each. An Information Board reminded visitors that dogs, bicycles and motor vehicles were not allowed in the Park!
Mr. Best did not want his visitors to use the main drive to reach his House since it had a northerly aspect over the infamous blighted and smokey landscape of the Black Country. Hence he laid out a new drive that was approached by immediately taking a left turn on entering his grounds and a view across fields and the Clent Hills.
In 1954 the old original wooden gates at the entrance to the Park were replaced by wrought iron ones. These were the gift of Mr. Henry Woodhouse and they commemorated the twenty-first anniversary of the incorporation of Rowley Regis as a municipal borough. A cast iron information plaque was attached to the sandstone wall just outside the gates. This has since been removed but a careful inspection of the wall will reveal its former location.
The trail now leads you to Panel 3.
Next - The Reservoir and Cascades